The 411 on golf cart laws in Greenville, SC

Start your carts.  

Pump the brakes before you take another tee-riffic ride in a golf cart. From riding across the golfing green around The Preserve at Verdae or 3s Greenville, to taking a spin around the neighborhood golf carts get plenty of road time in Greenville. 

Before you consider adding this recreational vehicle to your garage take a look at these need-to-know rules for these cruisers. 

Before you or someone you know takes a golf cart for a drive, here’s the rules for South Carolina:

  • The golf cart must be insured, permitted, and registered with the South Carolina DMV.
  • The golf cart must remain within 4 miles of the home where it is registered. 
  • It may be operated on roads with posted speeds of less than 35 mph.
  • Golf carts may only be operated during daylight hours.
  • The driver must be at least 16 years old with a valid driver’s license and gold cart permit.

To receive a golf cart permit, you must do all of the following:

These golf cart permits may be purchased at any DMV branch. After you have a permit, the decal must be placed on the golf cart at all times

Ready to hit the gas and shop your own golf cart? Check out these local shops: 

🛺 Elite Custom Golf Carts, 100 Bruce Rd.
🛺 C & R Golf Carts, 4028 Calhoun Memorial Hwy, Easley
🛺 Rogers EV, 525 Woodruff Rd.

If you need extra reassurance, take a look at what Trooper Bob had to say on the topic.