Support Us Button Widget

The results are in: Here’s who won seats in the 2023 City of Greenville election

The mayor’s seat and three city council seats were up for grabs.

Aerial shot of current city hall building (tall, multi-story, black mid-century building)

Here’s who will serve in City Hall for the next four years. | Photo by the City of Greenville

Table of Contents

The results are in for the City of Greenville municipal election. According to unofficial results reported by The Post and Courier and WYFF 4, Mayor Knox White – Greenville’s longest-serving mayor – was reelected to an eighth term, defeating Michelle Shain.

Mayor Knox White began his tenure on Greenville City Council in 1983 and has served as the Mayor of Greenville since 1995. This was the first time since 2007 Mayor White ran against a challenger.

About Mayor Knox White

In his time as a leader in our city, Mayor White’s résumé includes work on removing the Camperdown Bridge, the creation of Falls Park and the Liberty Bridge, development along the Reedy River, construction of Fluor Field, development of the Swamp Rabbit Trail, and the opening of Unity Park.

Who else will serve on City Council?

According to WYFF 4’s unofficial results with 100% reporting:

  • Dorothy Dowe won the At-Large seat, defeating Randall Fowler.
  • John Deworken (ran unopposed) and won the District One seat.
  • Ken Gibson (ran unopposed) and won the District Three seat.

District Two, District Four, and the second At-Large seat will be up for election in 2025.